Dunguarie Castle was built in 1520 by the O’Hynes clan on the picturesque shores of Galway Bay. The Castle takes it name from the nearby ancient fort of Guaire, King of Connaught who died is 662 AD. This restored 16th century tower house sits on a rocky outcrop on the shores of Galway Bay, 300 yards outside the picturesque village of Kinvara.
In the early 17th century the castle passed into the hands of the Martyn’s of Galway. Richard Martyn, Mayor of Galway lived here until 1642 and the Martyn’s of Tulira Castle, owned the castle until this century.
In 1924 Dunguaire was bought and repaired by Oliver St. John Gogarty, the famous surgeon and literary figure. This was the time of the great Celtic revival in Irish literature exemplified by the works of writers such as Synge, Yeats Shaw and O'Casey. It became the venue for meetings of the literary revivalists such as W.B. Yeats, his patron Lady Gregory, George Bernard Shaw, Edward Martin and J.M. Synge. Yeats in particular believed strongly in the Celtic Cardic Tradition and set about reviving the ancient oral customs incorporating them into his plays and poetry. In 1954 the castle was acquired by Christobel Lady Amptill who completed the restoration started by Olive St Gogarty.
Subsequently the castle became the property of Shannon Development. Today the restored castle gives an insight into the lifestyle of the people who lived from 1520 to modern times.
At night the castle is the venue for the Dunguaire Castle Banquet.. Dunguaire Castle Banquet takes operates Mid April - Mid October at 5.30pm & 8.45pm. (Reservations are necessary for the Castle Banquet).
Dunguaire Castle is open daily for visitors to explore - end of April to September from 10am - 5pm (last admission 4.30 pm). Reservations are not necessary to visit during the day. Opening times may be subject to change.